Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

2011, 2011 debut author challenge, Amy Garvey, Harper Teen, review, stand alone, young adult 8 Comments 15th October, 2011

Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release date: September 20, 2011
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Published format: Hardcover, 336 pages
Series: Stand alone
Purchase: Book Depository

Summary from Goodreads:
When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

This is a story about loss, and about dealing with loss. And while usually the idea of a love cut short almost always tugs at my heartstrings, Cold Kiss failed to so this time. I believe the only reason for that though is that we didn’t see Wren and Danny together before he died. We didn’t see Danny as he was alive. There were small flashbacks showing them together, but they still didn’t really connect me with Wren’s loss.
I honestly could have done without Gabriel too. Or at least less of him. There were some parts that felt kind of forced to me, and I also felt like he moved too fast sometimes. There wasn’t any real development between them. It seemed as though she had to have a guy in her life, and the only way she could get over Danny was to have a new guy to focus on, which is just not true.
My favorite parts of the book were Wren coming out of her grief enough to begin mending her friendships with Darcia and Jess. Friendship is incredibly important, and I’m glad to see that Wren was trying to reconnect, and that Darcia and Jess were trying to forgive Wren for just completely dumping them. Wren’s family on the other hand confused me. I liked her sister Robin, but I don’t understand why her mother would never talk about the magic. Or why the dad left. And these questions were never really answered.
All in all, I did like the story, though there were definitely flaws for me. People are saying this is a Paranormal book, but really it’s not. Sure, there’s a zombie, and some magic. But this deals more with loss, and letting go so you can move on. I would definitely recommend giving this book a try.

8 Responses to “Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey”

  1. Bee

    I liked the fact that you didn’t call this a paranormal book like everyone else. Magic realism, perhaps?

    I had this on netgalley, but I didn’t get around to reading it. Would still like to, though.

  2. Precious

    Interesting review. I’ve seen this at the bookshop but I didn’t buy it – wasn’t really sure if I was up for it. But I’m glad that you said this was less of a paranormal. I haven’t read anything with zombies so I’m hesitant. But after reading your review, I’m convinced.

  3. Lori

    I really enjoyed this one and I didn’t expect to. I agree that it focuses more on Wren’s grief than the paranormal aspects.

  4. Chey

    This book sounds pretty emotional and definitely intriguing. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Amber

    Like Lori, this one took me by surprise because I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. You make a good point about this not really being a paranormal book and I completely agree with you. Sad you didn’t like this one as much as me but I’m glad you did enjoy it!

  6. Shellie

    Thanks for the review, I’m a new follower. Your review is definitely different from what others have said. I just got this book last Friday & cannot wait to read it. Can’t wait to see what you post in the future =)
    -Shellie
    @deviantzangel
    creativereads.blogspot.com

  7. Candace

    It being less about paranormal and more about dealing with loss makes me more interested to read this one. I’ve really only read rave reviews for it and I still wasn’t ready to rush out and buy it and your more so-so review makes me more interested now that I have a different opinion thrown in. Still think I’ll wait and get it at the library. It does have a gorgeous cover in real life though. I was tempted once I saw it in person.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge